Skip Navigation

About MCSS

School Safety Subcabinet

The Maryland Safe to Learn Act of 2018 (Senate Bill 1265) was signed into law by Governor Hogan on April 10, 2018, and it significantly altered and expanded the role of the Maryland Center for School Safety. The legislation established the School Safety Subcabinet, and School Safety Advisory Board. The Subcabinet serves as the regulatory authority and as the governing board of the Center, and its members are identified in statute. Each member may have a designee to represent them in their absence.
Dr. Karen B. Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools currently serves as the Chair of the Subcabinet.
Other members include:
  • Colonel Woodrow W. Jones III, Secretary of State Police
  • Brian E. Frosh, Attorney General of Maryland
  • Robert R. Neall, Secretary of Health
  • Carol A. Beatty, Secretary of Disabilities
  • Robert A. Gorrell, Executive Director of the Interagency Commission on School Construction


Meeting Agendas and Minutes

2019 Annual Report