Skip Navigation

About MCSS

School Safety Advisory Board

The Maryland Safe to Learn Act of 2018 (Senate Bill 1265) was signed into law by Governor Hogan on April 10, 2018, and it significantly altered and expanded the role of the Maryland Center for School Safety. The legislation established the School Safety Subcabinet, and School Safety Advisory Board. The Subcabinet serves as the regulatory authority and as the governing board of the Center, and its members are identified in statute. Each member may have a designee to represent them in their absence.

The Advisory Board serves as counsel to the Subcabinet, and is chaired by Dr. George Arlotto, Superintendent of Anne Arundel County Public Schools.

The Chair is selected from the Advisory Board membership by the Governor. The Advisory Board represents a number of agencies and stakeholder groups, and they are as follows:

  • Katherine Klausmeier, Maryland State Senate
  • Eric Ebersole, Maryland House of Delegates
  • Karin Bailey, Maryland Association of Boards of Education
  • Dr. Kellie Anderson, School Psychologist
  • Pamela Gaddy, Maryland State Education Association
  • James T. Bell, Parent of a Public School Student
  • Lourdes Padilla, Secretary, Department of Human Services
  • Sam Abed, Secretary, Department of Juvenile Services
  • Jon Carrier, Maryland Association of School Resource Officers
  • Sheriff Scott Adams, Maryland Sheriffs’ Association
  • Chief Tim Altomare, Maryland Chiefs of Police Association
  • Laurel Moody, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems
  • David Engel, Maryland Coordination and Analysis Center
  • Rachael Faulkner, Maryland Assembly on School-Based Health Care
  • Jayshree Srinivasan, Maryland Association of Student Councils
  • Dr. Sharon A. Hoover, Center for School Mental Health
  • Megan Berger, Disability Rights Maryland
  • Dr. Chanta’ M. Booker, School Principal
  • Captain Patrick D. Herring, Parent of a Child with Disabilities
  • Thomas E. Alban, Representative of a Non-Public School
  • Manfred Reek, Representative of School Bus Drivers
  • Nicholas Shockney, Special Education Administrator, Carroll County Public Schools
  • Lee-Nadine Oppenheim, Non-Public Special Education Facility

Meeting Agendas and Minutes